When Insomnia Knocks!

I was wide eyes from midnight up to dawn and to my despair I only had 3 hours of sleep when myself finally retreated this morning and decided to let my spirit take a nap. Que horror! I was in a very ocean deep thinking what made me tossing from one side to another last night?

They say when a person hardly sleeps or can’t find ways to fall asleep at night (take note up to dawn) meaning someone out there was vehemently and cordially thinking of him/her. I was wondering the whole day then if someone really thought of me last night. I wanna know whoever that person is. 🙂 “In my dreams.”

Moving on from that Insomnia moment. I canceled my whereabouts for today for the purpose of taking a big break from that insomnia experience. I want to recharge myself, get energy and recover from last nights sleepless mode.

Going back to Insomnia thing..

What is insomnia?

Insomnia

Insomnia is a symptom, not a stand-alone diagnosis or a disease. By definition, insomnia is “difficulty initiating or maintaining sleep, or both” or the perception of poor quality sleep. Insomnia may therefore be due to inadequate quality or quantity of sleep. Insomnia is not defined by a specific number of hours of sleep that one gets, since individuals vary widely in their sleep needs and practices. Although most of us know what insomnia is and how we feel and perform after one or more sleepless nights, few seek medical advice. Many people remain unaware of the behavioral and medical options available to treat insomnia.

What are the supposed treatment for it?

What Are Some  of the Treatments for Insomnia?

Generally, treatment of insomnia entails both non-pharmacologic (non-medical) and pharmacologic (medical) aspects. It is best to tailor treatment for individual person based on the potential cause. Studies have shown that combining medical and non-medical treatments typically is more successful in treating insomnia than either one alone.

Non-medical treatment and behavioral therapy include:

  • sleep hygiene,
  • relaxation therapy,
  • stimulus control, and/or
  • sleep restriction.

Examples of prescription and OTC sleep aids are:

  • benzodiazepine sedatives,
  • nonbenzodiazepine sedatives,
  • antidepressants,
  • and others.

FIND OUT MORE ABOUT INSOMNIA IN THE LINK PROVIDED BELOW:

http://www.emedicinehealth.com/insomnia/article_em.htm#Insomnia%20Overview

About MiraLaccay

I share everything. Just feel free to saunter by. Keep on reading.
This entry was posted in Sleep thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

